3 Tips Gleaned from Gluten-Free

As some of you may be aware, I am on my way to getting my Baking Arts Certificate. One of the courses I’m currently enrolled in is Gluten-free baking. Here are 3 tips I’ve learned that I’d like to share with you:

  1. Gluten-free doesn’t retain moisture very well. Make sure to store in an air-tight container until ready to eat.
  2. There is a lot of measuring involved with gluten-free baking. Plan on extra time in the kitchen for your ‘mis-en-place’.
  3. With the right combination of flours and flavours, gluten-free can taste really good!
2 thoughts on “3 Tips Gleaned from Gluten-Free

  1. Thanks for the tips
    I am not on gluten free diet , but I like to minimize gluten intake from time to time.
    I succeed in making gluten free recipes that does not need leavening. But I’m still having hard time with breads :o(
    Good luck with your Baking Arts Certificate.

  2. Thank you.
    I still like to eat gluten but I too like to minimize my intake every now and then. Bread has been challenging but I managed to make sandwich bread successfully. I think the secret to holding it together was the guar gum.

Leave a Reply

