Busy Bea Baking…A Proud Mama to a Litter

I was up all night birthing my beavers. It was a labour of love-the love of baking and I suppose the patriotic love born for my country of birth. I am the proud mother to a litter of beaver pupcakes pardon me cupcakes. Like other animals in the wild I am obliged to eat my young; I did share with others though. Good Canadians share.

These red velvet cupcakes were naturally reddened with beets and the chemical reaction of baking soda, vinegar and cream of tartar. If I had used the lighter coloured and more acidic cocoa powder they would have been even more red. No matter as they were covered in a chocolate cream cheese icing.  The corn nuts made excellent eyes while the cinnamon heart and coconut chips rounded out the face. And the tail was simply a sugar cookie with criss-cross design and sprinkled with a maple sugar and cinnamon topping.

Yes Canada Day has come and gone but the memory of good food lasts longer.

I need help rotating pics! Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
I need help rotating pics! Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Leave a Reply

