Busy Bea Baking…

…yes it is hot and humid out and my oven is still on! First up: zucchini relish. I salvaged leftover Farmers’ Market zucchini to make this spicy condiment. Goes great with a  grilled cheese sandwich.

Zucchini relish.  Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Zucchini relish.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013

While they may not win a beauty contest for prettiest decoration they are tasty. These semi-vegan cupcakes are banana split with freeze-dried organic strawberries and topped with gluten-free sprinkles, a non-vegan chocolate ganache (oops-used cream with a vegan cupcake recipe) and a dried sour cherry.

No maraschinos here.

I got this recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and reimagined the traditional toppings based on what I had in my pantry. As it called for pineapple (a traditional topping for the real thing, so I’m led to believe) and I didn’t have any, I used passion fruit jam instead . However, this gave a wetness to the batter. No matter how much I poked them with a cake-testing skewer (and well after the alloted baking time) the cupcakes were hopelessly moist.  But they taste good. 

Semi-vegan banana split cupcakes. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Semi-vegan banana split cupcakes.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Leave a Reply

