Busy Bea Baking…

On the menu this past week I have made the following:

  • TVP and pepper skewers with peanut sauce. Note: this was from my Tofu class which I have now completed. Only 2 courses stand between me and my Vegetarian Culinary Arts Certificate.
The finished product. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
The finished product. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Ready for the peanut sauce.  Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Ready for the peanut sauce.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
  • A revamped version of tabbouleh salad. The changes? I roasted the tomatoes to bring out their lycopene; replaced the bulgur wheat with freekah wheat; used dried parsley and mint instead of fresh (simply because I didn’t have any); added a splash of pomegranate vinegar just for fun. Note: Use what you’ve got at hand to make facsimiles of the real thing. You may even like it better than the original recipe.
Yalla! Dig in! Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Yalla! Dig in!
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
  • A leftover dessert. I used leftover vegan pie crust, leftover lime curd (not vegan) and leftover white chocolate with coconut milk to make a lime curd tart. Note: Don’t let it go to waste! All food has a purpose, whether it be for resuscitated leftovers or compost.
About to take my first bite. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
About to take my first bite.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
The whole tart with oozing ganache.  Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
The whole tart with oozing ganache.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Leave a Reply

