Busy Bea Baking…

It’s the weekend, it’s chilly and I am happy creating in my kitchen. While the hockey game plays in the background my first Moroccan tagine cooks in the foreground. I indulged in a square-shaped ceramic Moroccan tagine and tonight I am trying it out for the first time.

Phew! It fits in my tiny oven. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Phew! It fits in my tiny oven.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Root vege couscous Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Root vege couscous
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013

                                                                 Attack of the beta-carotene vegetables!

I packed my tagine and in it I put:
roasted butternut squash, organic carrot and pumpkin puree – vegetables high in vitamin A, the plant-source precursor to beta-carotene.
All the usual suspects are involved too:
onion, garlic, Ras al Hanout (Moroccan spice mix), cumin, salt, lemon juice, pomegranate molasses, tomato paste, water and olive oil.

A tagine can be one of two types of dishes: the food that comprises the tagine or the cooking vessel itself – a sort of Moroccan crock pot.

“Slow boat to China”…or North Africa

The tagine likes it low and slow. Like a western crock pot, a tagine requires low heat (no more than 300°F/149°C/Gas Mark 2) and lots of cooking time (i.e. several hours). I cheated by pre-cooking all of my ingredients. They are now steaming in their own personal hammam for the next hour.  Should be ready by the third period of tonight’s game.

Vegan s'mores Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Vegan s’mores
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.

“Man cannot live on bread alone.”
Well I’m a woman and I can! Here is what has been occupying my time and kitchen as of late:

Miche and pain rustique Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Miche and pain rustique
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Ale bread and potato & chive bread Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Ale bread and potato & chive bread
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Orange Blossom Brioche Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Orange Blossom Brioche
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Cheese and onion buns. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Cheese and onion buns.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013.
Lavash - lavished with seeds. Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Lavash – lavished with seeds.
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Grissini i.e. Italian breadsticks Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
Grissini i.e. Italian bread sticks
Photo by Kimberley (c)2013
2 thoughts on “Busy Bea Baking…

  1. These look wonderful! Being vegan doesn’t have to mean boring. There are no many more options now than before. I tried it, and I basically try to follow it at least 70-80% of the time.

Leave a Reply

