It’s On and Almost Over

Coming to you live from the Vegan Bake-Off in Toronto…This is my second year at the annual Vegan Bake-Off and my first time joining the competition as a baker. It wasn’t nearly as nerve-wracking as I thought but I’m regretting my choice of entry. I opted to do a raw chocolate avocado pudding with a cinnamon sugar cookie, a take on the Spanish/Mexican classic chocolate con churros.

While the taste was more than edible it fell flat on presentation (quite literally it fell on the ride over too). We eat with our eyes first after all. However, I am not discouraged. I’m already planning my entry for next year.

They are still announcing the winners and I wait until I can take my display and residual pride with me off into the sunset. I am now one year experienced and ready to bring it even better for next time.

TIPS:
If you are attending a bake-off…
-Bring Tupperware for your leftovers. There’s only so much sugar one can take in a sitting.
-Bring a friend. Between the two of you, you can sample a little of everything.

If you are competing in a bake-off…
-Go simple your first time out. The stress of preparing a massive amount of goods for a large crowd will be mitigated when the recipe is not too complex.
-Use your first time as a rehearsal. While you take it seriously and prepare a dish that is winning-worthy, don’t sweat it if you don’t. There’s always next year!

All photos taken with my BlackBerry (Mine is the sad-looking cooking sitting at number 11.)

Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Easy guess for naming this treat. (Psst…it’s tiramisu)
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Professional Entry (show-off!)
Leave a Reply

