Busy Bea Baking…

Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014
Photo by Kimberley (c)2014

Who’s been a busy girl?

I resurrected a childhood favourite summer treat and made a vegan version of the creamsicle. I remember fondly this sweet orangey coating with creamy white middle frozen to a popsicle stick. The ingredients in my alchemized version are coconut milk, orange juice, maple syrup, vanilla and lemon zest. I think coconut milk should get a Michelin star for its role in any vegan frozen treat. The other ingredients help to mute the coconut flavour so you are left with a simply rich taste and creamy texture.

It seems to be the Murphy’s Law of food. Once you find something you like, it suddenly disappears from grocery shelves. I have become quite attached to my Veganaise with grapeseed oil and when I ran out, wasn’t able to find it in any of my favourite haunts. The solution? Make my own of course.

I cross-referenced several recipes on the internet and finally settled on a hybrid. The base for this mayo was grapeseed oil emulsified with vinegar, spice and sugar. With a little patience and a lot of work from my hand-held blender the mayonnaise was created. It is fairly straightforward to make-simply place all ingredients in a blender and blend until white and thickened. Lesson learned: Next time, less sugar, more oil and patience while blending.

Enjoy minute amounts of vegan mayo in cold potato salad, on veggie burgers and as a base for a vegan Cesar salad dressing.

2 thoughts on “Busy Bea Baking…

  1. It’s so fun to make all those old loved favorites vegan! I’m doing that wit a few recipes now

Leave a Reply

