Bread – The Staff of Life

I don’t braid my hair, I braid my bread. I become attached to my fermenting dough and I get excited when I see bubbles on the surface of my starter. I am willing to pay an exorbitant amount of money for a piece of linen so my dough has a place to rest and I have a whole cupboard full of various flours. Who am I?

I am an artisan bread baker. I love to eat it and bake it. I have now earned my certificate in Artisan Bread Baking and bread is my life! (Well a significant part of it anyways.)

Bread is many things: political, religious, social, cultural, and nourishment.
It has been around for millenia and every culture has some form of it along with a set of rules on how to prepare it and how and when to consume it. Businesses have been built around the production of bread, the modern-day mass production of it and the artisan trade which is growing in popularity. Bread has also been at the centre of controversy and revolution.
Bread has been shared, abhorred and adored. It accompanies most meals, is found in many celebrations and the very smell of it is said to encourage potential home buyers to buy the house in which the bread is being baked.

…another man’s poison.

The anti-carb revolution, on the other hand, has painted it as an evil product and for those with Celiac disease wheat breads are poison.
Love it or hate it, bread has a lot to say about who we are. Stay tuned for more bread revelations in this new series Bread: The Staff of Life.

“Give us this day our daily bread.”

Communion bread.

Community ovens.

Someone’s bread and butter.

The greatest thing since sliced bread.

The breaking of bread.

“Let them eat cake!”

In a French settlement, just across the pond the words “let them eat cake” were allegedly uttered by the Queen of France of the time Marie Antoinette. While many historians agree that she never actually said these words, the statement signifies the importance of bread. Here is an interesting read from the site Resilience.org:
The Politics of Bread

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

