Around the World in 80 Bites – Bite 8

Fuzzy Wuzzy
was a bear

This time of year I can pretend to be a bear and gorge on berries. My bite of choice? (bite 8): BC cherries. Though I will settle for Washington-grown if I must and Ontario-grown if I’m desperate, it is the organic BC variety of sweet cherries that I enjoy the most. They are like nature’s candy.

There are different types of cherries that fall into two categories: sweet and sour. Both types contain antioxidant compounds, vitamin C, fibre and potassium. Cherries also have anti-inflammatory properties and contain melatonin, the hormone that controls the sleep/wake cycle. Some jet lag remedies contain this substance and some people report using it for insomnia. I shall be having cherries as a bedtime snack until they are no longer available.

Cherry fruit nutrition facts from Nutrition and You

 

 

One thought on “Around the World in 80 Bites – Bite 8

Leave a Reply

