Sugar Sunday – Cupcake day

Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before.

~Dalai Lama~

I say, take this one step further, and every month, eat a cupcake flavour you’ve never tried before. I am reviving cupcake day!

Once a month, when I lived in Calgary, I would go to Crave cupcakes and get their flavour of the month. (Since I was there anyway, I often got one of the standard flavours too). I called this ‘cupcake day’ and I looked forward to it every month. December was especially pleasureable as they had two flavours of the month! One of them was my all time favourite: gingerbread with cream cheese icing and a little gingerbread cookie person on top!

http://www.cravecupcakes.ca

This month I treated myself to the strawberry Valentine’s Day cupcake from Bunner’s, a vegan and gluten-free bakery in Toronto. Since I was there already, I also treated myself to the blueberry pop tart as well.

Photo by Kimberley (c)2016
Photo by Kimberley (c)2016
Photo by Kimberley (c)2016
Photo by Kimberley (c)2016

http://www.bunners.ca

Originally, a treat was something special, only meant to be indulged in occasionally, a ‘guilty pleasure’, if you will. Nowadays, however, it seems we are inundated with treats, often disguised as ‘healthy foods.’

-Commercially prepared granola cereal. I just sampled about ¼ cup of organic pumpkin and flax granola. That serving contained 22g of sugar, slightly more than the suggested daily intake of added sugar (about 20g).

-Yogurts of all persuasions: Greek, probiotic-containing and low-fat, especially the low-fat. (They have to replace the fat with something palatable and clearly that something is sugar.)

-Salad dressing and condiments. Commercial ketchup is basically just tomatoes, sugar and vinegar.

-Run of the mill bread (haha, a pun). Added sugar gives the yeast something to feed on so it can grow quicker; speed being crucial for mass production. Artisan bread typically relies on natural sugars and slow fermentation.

Even foods not considered healthy, have an extraordinary amount of sugar in them: specialty coffees, teas and other commercially prepared beverages and french fries from McDonald’s. Yes Virginia, those skinny limp fries from the Golden Arches are sprinkled with both sugar and salt.

Others may disagree but I still firmly believe that indulging once in a while can be part of a healthy eating plan.

While we eat to live, we also live to eat. What’s a birthday party without cake? And as tasty as healthy food can be, can a carrot really compare to carrot cake? Or kale to chocolate?

Setting aside a day, hour or occasion to give into a craving, allows you to indulge then move on. I find I can easily enjoy both healthy food and the occasional treat. Too much of anything, whether good or bad, never ends well.

(And if you have no desire to  indulge in any sugar, then we can never be friends.)

I say have your (cup) cake (day) and eat it too!

What’s your preferred indulgence? Sweet or savoury? Cake or cookie? 

Feel free to share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

