Meatless Monday – Just When You Thought it Was Safe…

Apparently September 27th was Hug a Vegetarian Day! Why didn’t anyone tell me? I found out by chance when perusing someone’s blog. I also found out that commercial sugar isn’t vegetarian either! Why didn’t someone tell me? I found out while attending a vegan cake demo by the Cupcake lady at the Toronto Vegetarian Food Festival.

When prepared for consumption and sale, some common sweeteners are exposed to animal products. Bone char, incinerated cow bones, are used in the processing of cane sugar. It acts as a filter and whitener. Animal fat, lard, has been used in maple syrup to reduce naturally occurring foam. And by nature of the fact that bees produce it, honey is not vegan either.

So which  common sweeteners are vegan-friendly? Currently the list includes:

  • agave syrup
  • brown rice syrup
  • date syrup
  • sweet molasses
  • stevia
  • coconut sugar
  • demerara
  • muscovado

Certain brands of maple syrup will carry a kosher label (usually the word pareve) indicating that lard, at least from a pig, wasn’t used in the processing.

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday – Just When You Thought it Was Safe…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s