Meatless Monday – Devilishly good

My on-going experiments with aquafaba continued last week with my attempt at Italian meringue buttercream icing. The result? Epic fail. Once I added the non-dairy ‘butter’ to the fluffed up chickpea brine it collapsed. I was unable to revive it with the high-speed of a high-powered KitchenAid motor. This left me with a bowl of chickpeas needing to be used and preferably in a way they haven’t been used yet. Enter a photo on the web of devilled tomatoes.

I took about 1/3 cup of chickpeas and chopped them in a food processor. To it I added 3 almost 4 tablespoons of vegan mayonnaise. Then I put in a pinch each of ground cayenne pepper, turmeric and onion powder with a generous  ¼ teaspoon of kala nemak (‘black’ salt that’s actually pink with a strong sulphuric smell). Enter 1 teaspoon of prepared mustard and ½ teaspoon of apple cider vinegar. Mix together then top with paprika. Et voila!

 

To serve, spoon a little bit into a halved cherry tomato, on top of a tofu slice or spread on baguette rounds for an appetizer.

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday – Devilishly good

Leave a Reply

