Peas contribute protein, vitamins and minerals to your diet. One cup of dried peas contains about 16 grams of protein and is an ingredient often found in vegan protein supplements. Check out the following link for more nutritional information concerning dried peas.
The cooler temperatures and often busy schedule this time of year are perfectly suited to my quick and easy-to-make recipe for split pea soup. Soak one cup of dried split green peas overnight or up to a few days to sprout. Drain. In soup pot over medium heat place the following: some water; one large onion, diced; one clove garlic, minced; one large carrot, diced. Cook for a few minutes. Add one tablespoon each of nutritional yeast and coconut oil; one teaspoon each of salt, thyme, savoury, lemon juice; a dash each of ground pepper and liquid smoke. Stir. Add split peas then stir to amalgamate ingredients. Add four cups water and one vegetable stock cube; turn heat to high. Once the mixture starts to boil, turn heat to medium/low and cook for 45 minutes. Add two more cups of water and cook on medium for 25 minutes more.
Have this soup with seitan ham or tempeh bacon to mimic Québec spilt pea soup, traditionally made with some pig product. Or serve with baked tofu slices or whole grain bread to up the protein content.
When life gives you lemons, steep them in vodka to make limoncello. In the meantime, buy chocolate, lots of it, and enjoy eating every morsel.
caramel bars, dark chocolate mints, solid chocolate and flavoured
So much to choose from!
It’s Saturday, it’s raining and I’ve got a replenished stock of chocolate in my fridge. I made a pilgrimage to the fair-trade store Ten Thousand Villages as I have been doing every year around mid-November to get my fix of Divine chocolate. This fair-trade company operates a cacao plantation in Ghana, one of the leading suppliers of theobroma (“food of the gods”) to the world chocolate industry. To learn more about this company and their cacao farmers, get recipes and drool over chocolate, check out the following link.
November 12-18, 2017 has been designated National Health Product week by the Canadian Health Food Association (CHFA).
The CHFA cite four pillars for health and immunity (exercise, nutrition, mindfulness, sleep) and offer suggestions on natural products that may benefit one’s wellness. Nutritional supplements were amongst the recommendations. But did you know…your multivitamin may not be vegan/vegetarian? Certain brands may contain gelatin, bone meal, oyster shells, lanolin and stearic acid while some products are derived from fish.
Gel capsules and gummy vitamins can be made with gelatin. Calcium supplements may be made from ground oyster shells or bone meal. Vitamin D3 may have been made from lanolin (sheep’s wool). Stearic acid is an additive used to improve the consistency of a supplement and can be animal-derived. Omega-3 supplements may be derived from the fish in which this fatty acid is abundant.
As always, read the ingredient list of any supplements you take and look for a veg-friendly label/symbol on the packaging to determine if the product is vegetarian/vegan friendly. See the following links for a few guides on supplements for vegetarians/vegans.