Busy Bea Baking…Gluten-Free?

Photo by Kimberley (c)2015
Photo by Kimberley (c)2015
Photo by Kimberley (c)2015
Photo by Kimberley (c)2015

I cannot claim to make gluten-free goods. Though I have an assortment of gluten-free flour in my pantry, I also have wheat flour which contains gluten.

The fine particles of flour dust tends to get everywhere and it is possible that the gluten-free and the gluten-full have commingled.

When buying commercial products that claim to be gluten-free, check the label for any indication that it was produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility. (i.e. Equipment and production floor are free from contamination by gluten-containing food.)

It is more accurate to describe my ‘gluten-free’ baked goods as being made with gluten-free flour for those who are ‘gluten sensitive.’

Pictured above are vegan pumpkin scones made with a mix of Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free flour and kamut and brown rice flour. They go great with a touch of maple butter.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Busy Bea Baking…Gluten-Free?

  1. I have had to bake myself gluten free bread for a while now, since I am gluten intolerant (No wonder why I was always sick to my stomach!). King Arthur’s brand has an excellent rice flour based bread mix. Can almost pass for real sandwich bread.

    1. Hi Carol.
      Thanks for your comment and thanks for the tip. I’ve heard of King Arthur’s flour but didn’t realize they had a rice blend. Hopefully their online store ships to Canada!
      Continued luck with your gluten-sensitive baking.

Leave a Reply

